Event Calendar

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

End-of-Project Webinar: Conformal Coating Test Development, Phase 2 (Session 2)

Start Date: 6/9/2022 8:00 AM HKT
End Date: 6/9/2022 9:00 AM HKT

Location:
China 

Organization Name: iNEMI

Contact:
Haley Fu
Email: haley.fu@inemi.org
Phone: (984) 333-0820



Session 2 (APAC)
Thursday, June 9, 2022
8:00 - 9:00 a.m. CST (China)
8:00 - 9:00 p.m. EDT (Americas) on June 8
Register for this webinar

Session 1 (Americas & Europe)
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
8:00 - 9:00 a.m. EDT (Americas)
2:00 - 3:00 p.m. CET (Europe)
8:00 - 9:00 p.m. CST (China)
Register for this webinar


The standard method of evaluating conformal coatings is to apply coatings to the actual hardware and determine mean time to failure, which is a very inconvenient and slow method of testing. With a test time of many months this approach is too long to be a practical test. Supply chain disruption to a manufacturing process requires a quick test — less than a week in duration — to qualify a conformal coating. Phase 1 of iNEMI’s Conformal Coating Evaluation for Improved Environmental Protection project established a flowers-of-sulfur (FOS) based test for conformal coating performance evaluation to accelerate product development and evaluation cycle time. However, the electronics industry has a long history of testing based on a mixed flowing gas (MFG) environment.

The recently completed Phase 2 of the Conformal Coating project compared the results of testing three commonly available conformal coatings using FOS, MFG and iodine vapor tests. Serpentine thin films of copper and silver were coated with the conformal coatings under test and the corrosion rates of the underlying thin films were measured by electrical means in the FOS and MFG environments. In the iodine vapor test the extent of thin film corrosion was visually estimated. The extent of corrosion of the metal films was used as a measure of the conformal coating performance. The three test results were in qualitative agreement.  

This webinar will introduce the experiments and test results from Phase 2, share what was learned from the team’s exploratory study of using Terahertz as a non-destructive technique for coating thickness measurement, and discuss potential future work.
 
If you have any questions, please contact Haley Fu (haley.fu@inemi.org).