Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Tuesday, March 2, 2021

Call for Participation: RDL Adhesion Strength Measurement Project, Session 1

Start Date: 3/2/2021 8:00 PM EST
End Date: 3/2/2021 9:00 PM EST

Location:
Japan 

Organization Name: iNEMI

Contact:
Masahiro Tsuriya
Email: m.tsuriya@inemi.org
Phone: (984) 333-0820

Call for Participation: RDL Adhesion Strength Measurement Project

Session 1
Tuesday, March 2, 2021
8:00 p.m. EST (Americas)
10:00 a.m. JST (Japan) on Wednesday, March 3
Register for this webinar

Session 2
Wednesday, March 3, 2021 
8:00 a.m. EST (Americas)
2:00 p.m. CET (Europe) 
10:00 p.m. JST (Japan) 
Register for this webinar

RDL (redistributed layer) adhesion for advanced substrates, FO-WLP and PLP is critical for packaging lifetime quality. Poor adhesion strength can lead to circuit patterning quality and package reliability issues. RDL is exposed to the manufacturing process environment, which may cause degradation in the adhesion to other materials, such as the encapsulant, insulation, die, carrier wafer, substrate, panel, etc. 

Currently, there is no global standard to measure narrow RDL adhesion strength. The only available measurement standard by IPC is for wider Cu trace adhesion to printed circuit boards. It is critical for the industry to have a means to identify potential quality risks due to insufficient adhesion strength.

The objective of the RDL Adhesion Strength Measurement project is to evaluate adhesion strength measurement methodologies and characterize the RDL mechanical performances. The project will also establish potential common requirements for key material properties so that packaging companies and users have identical qualification requirements.

The approach of this project is:

  • Phase 1: Evaluate the applicable adhesion strength measurement methodologies, validate selected methodologies and develop experimental guidelines.
  • Phase 2: Apply the defined methodology to characterize RDL adhesion for several material sets and conditions. This may include accelerated stress testing of the test coupon or test vehicle to assess the relationship between adhesion and package reliability.
This webinar will explain the motivation and scope of this project and review the task plan.The project is scheduled to start in late March 2021 and is looking for participants.