Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

iNEMI Presentation at Chemical Watch’s Global Electronics Summit

Start Date: 9/22/2021 12:00 PM WEST
End Date: 9/22/2021 4:30 PM WEST

Location:
United Kingdom 

Global Electronics Summit 
September 21-23, 2021 (virtual event)
iNEMI presentation: “The Future of Eco-Design for the Circular Electronics Economy”
Presenter: Mark Schaffer (iNEMI)
Day 2 / September 22 / Session 1: E-Waste, Batteries and Eco-Design
Session starts at 12:00 p.m. British Summer Time (BST) / 7:00 a.m. EDT (Americas)
iNEMI presentation is at 3:30 p.m. BST / 10:30 a.m. EDT


This presentation will review highlights of iNEMI’s Tech Topic Series: Eco-Design for Circular Electronics Economy. Created in conjunction with partners IPC and Fraunhofer IZM, this series comprised interactive webinars featuring experts from leading organizations that are accomplishing innovative/beyond-compliance eco-design. As part of this series, speakers from  Nokia, Samsung, Google, ADVA Optical, Fairphone and Schneider Electric shared how they are implementing innovative eco-design efforts to minimize the environmental impact of products and services over their life cycle.  

This presentation will look at three key areas that were identified from these sessions: 1) the need for collaboration (both within an organization and with the external community), 2) the fact that there are many things that can be done now (get started today!) and 3) what innovations/strategies might also be needed (modularity, research, longer-term vision). 

In addition to summarizing the common themes and best practices being used today, this presentation will make recommendations on how organizations can incorporate them into their design and review processes.